Our Mission, Our Story.

We began our work in 1980. At that time, the duplex Keepers’ Dwelling at the Currituck Beach Lighthouse compound had been abandoned for nearly 45 years. For Outer Banks Conservationists, it was worth saving. Ten years later, the Keepers’ Dwelling was almost completely restored, the entire compound manicured and reclaimed, and the Lighthouse – open to the public. Today, we continue to maintain and operate the Currituck Beach Lighthouse, along with another historic site – Island Farm on Roanoke Island.

We work to protect natural, cultural, and historic resources through preservation and conservation of a sense of place, and through public education, interpretation, and outreach, to instill these values in others for the benefit of future generations.

Our staff, working on the Currituck Banks and on Roanoke Island, operate a lighthouse and farm not as employees – but as your hosts to another time and place. As they go about their chores, cleaning the Fresnel lens that still flashes every 90 seconds, or shearing the sheep that graze several feet from centuries-old oak trees, they keep alive the sense of place so that your family can make their own memories of the Outer Banks. 

We are a lean group of conservators, taking a dynamic role in the history of our place.

Our Team

Main Office


Staff

Ladd Bayliss – Executive Director
ladd@obcinc.org
Melody Leckie – Finance Officer
melody@obcinc.org

Address

305 Queen Elizabeth Ave
P.O. Box 721
Manteo, NC 27954


Currituck Beach Lighthouse


Staff

Meghan Agresto – Site Manager
meghan@obcinc.org
Luis Garcia – Lighthouse Keeper        luis@obcinc.org

Address

1101 Corolla Village Rd
P.O. Box 58
Corolla, NC 27927


Island Farm


Staff

Michelle Clower – Site Manager
michelle@obcinc.org

Victoria Syrowski – Livestock Manager
victoria@obcinc.org

Gabe Maready – Gardens Manager
gabe@obcinc.org

Address

1140 N Hwy 64
P.O. Box 721
Manteo, NC 27954